Bom

By Bom

The Square Box on the Hill

I went into Norwich today for a bit of culture (I do miss my trips into London now I've moved). First I went to the Forum for the Norfolk & Norwich Open Studios taster exhibition. There's a lot of artists in Norfolk, so the open studios events are a real joy. The potter who ran our course yesterday was exhibiting one of her clocks, which was lovely and getting quite a bit of attention.

Then I signed up for an annual Museums Pass and went to the interesting exhibition in the Castle called The Square Box on the Hill. It covered the history of the castle from a Royal Palace in the 12th Century, to a gaol, to a ruin, and then to renovation and its current use as a museum and art gallery. There is going to be some changes inside the castle keep and an extra floor added where the gallery is (see Extra) which makes a lot of sense as more could be made of the massive space. I also had a look round the art gallery. The castle stands on the largest man made mound in the country and it towers over the road where you catch the park and ride bus. 

Then I took a deep breath and saw John Lewis again about my Sony 4K Blu-ray player. The latest is that Sony say it's certain discs, particularly those made by Warner Bros that are at fault and it's not their players. In their customer forum however, one customer says the discs like Dunkirk play ok on other manufacturer's players. I've told JL that I don't accept the response, but I've also contacted Warner Bros for their response. Ho hum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.