Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Another Family Myth Exploded!

A sunny morning, spent  in the garden hacking away at an escallonia which, despite disliking the cold, has managed to expand in every  direction. I only managed to tackle about half of it.  Then I found that it had swallowed up a small tree, and decided I'd done enough for one day.

Later we went to Kelso, to the garden centre, where I was a model of restraint - bought a couple of roses which will live in pots by the back door, some John Innes No3 and some lavender seeds. 

I'd been thinking about something small for Tiny Tuesday - time I got the extension tubes out again. When I was looking for old photographs, I came across my Grannie's wedding ring, and I thought I'd try to take a picture of the hallmark. It was a lot harder than I thought it would be!  Shadows in the wrong places, and finding an angle where I could get a clear shot were the main problems.  But I spent so long at it that I'm using it, flaws and all.

I looked it up on the interweb, and had my romantic illusions about it shattered.  My grandfather was a gold-miner, and my Grannie went from Glasgow to Johannesburg to marry him in 1904, when she was just 20 years old.  I always thought the ring was made from gold he'd dug up, and made in South Africa.  Turns out it was made in Birmingham!  The date is right though.

Thanks to Riwaka7 for hosting the TT challenge this month.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.