fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Happy May Day!

Celebrate May Day
International Workers Day
It's more than flowers!

Altho International Workers Day began from an workers gathering in Haymarket Square to rally for an 8 hr day and protest dispicable working conditions...more here , we barely celebrate it here where it originated in Chicago's Haymarket square. We celebrate in stead on Labor Day in Sept. but this change was due the widespread "red scare" in the fifties and May first became known here as "Loyalty Day"....see more here
  Ingunn in Oslo's blip site today has a wonderful International Workers Day gathering here
   As a child I only knew May Day as a day we were told in school to gather little bouquets in a basket and put them on door handles....while a fun thing to do, it robbed me of some real history I would have liked to have known...but I did learn the real meaning of this day from worldwide events and readings on my own.  So here's a lovely lilac for my mom who passed in 2oo1 and here's also a tribute to worker's rights all around the world!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.