Camouflaged

A perfect May Day morning. I didn't quite get around to washing my face in the dew, but spent a very happy hour or so mooching round our local ancient woodland, where the bluebells were at their peak (see extra), forming blue pools beneath the burgeoning trees. Midland hawthorn and field maple were also in bloom, as well as the less showy wood melick and wood sedge. I sneaked into a glade to check for early purple-orchids - I could only find one in full bloom and one in bud, a big reduction from last year, but the area has been flooded for much of the spring and this may have had an impact.

After breakfast it was off to work with Alex, laying out a reptile transect in a sloping grassy field. At one point we spotted nine red kites circling above us - quite a spectacle. I found this green-veined white tucked among the cleavers. It was still quite chilly so I was able to get close to it without it flying off. I particularly liked the way it was camouflaged among the plant stems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.