See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

The Only Way is Up

Lots of bees, hoverflies and butterflies out in the sunshine today........so many I didn't know which one to chase first :-)

I had to go to the dentist for a check up as I've decided to change dentists yet again...........I've not been able to find a NHS dentist I like since mine retired a few years ago, so I've gone down the private route.
I'll give her her dues, she was extremely thorough and each one of my elderly fillings, crowns and bridge has been well and truly prodded ( along with every other part of my mouth).........but all held fast and she wasn't able to drum up anymore business that way ( yes, I know I'm a cynic), so out came the X-ray machine and three X-rays later.......Bingo, she found a teeny tiny shadow just on the gum line under a large established crown on a back tooth. So I was summoned to the computer to examine the evidence.........apparently the crown needs to be removed ( it won't be easy and will take 1 and a half hours), the tooth will need to be drilled and refilled and a temporary crown fitted.......after a few weeks the temporary crown removed and an impression taken for the lab to make a permanent one .............that's assuming that nothing ' unexpected ' is found when the old crown is taken off, necessitating root canal work!!
At the moment I'm not having any trouble with it whatsoever and my old dentist always used to say that teeth that are not giving any trouble are best left undisturbed, so I feel a bit like I'm being taken for a fool ........who will be several hundred pounds lighter if I went ahead with it.
However, I don't really want to end up having to have it extracted if I do nothing and I don't know what to think or do ........any advice welcomed :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.