atoll

By atoll

AA Box #372 at Mere Corner

Never mind AA Milne and The House at Pooh Corner, this is The AA Box # 372 at Mere Corner.

In a way, I was disappointed because just after photographing this, a big AA Relay pick-up shot past on the A556 Chester Road as I got back in the car. Rather charmingly though, the 50's structure has been classified a Grade II Listed Building by English Heritage since 1989. Although maintained (I'm not sure by whom), it is no longer in use. A shame this, as I can just imagine the ghost of a smartly uniformed officer saluting a passing member, wearing his leather gloves and goggles, alongside the iconic BSA motorcycle and sidecar with bright yellow Automobile Association livery. I say 'his' because that would have been the case, but it did make me think. I am sure they must exist today, but I don't recall ever seeing a lady AA or RAC patrol person in all my years driving around in various old jalopies.

Talking of which, I once had to join the AA retrospectively after my 6-cylinder Woolsey Six broke down outside Cardiff before a Wales versus Australia rugby union game in the early nineties. I had only gone to see David Campese play, and poetically I managed to park the car in it's last dying breath on Australia Road, before still going to watch the game. Afterwards I joined the AA in a shopping mall, but then found I had to wait 7 days before they would be willing to recover me (I went home to Manchester on the bus and came back a week later). I found out afterwards, the car (two-tone brown and mustard) had only been firing on 4 cylinders all the time I had had it. It only cost me £375 and I bought it because I liked the illuminated badge on the grille.

I digress.

Getting back home today, this reminded me about my annual AA renewal due this November and a letter quoting £193.75 for 'silver service', even though the same package as a new member would cost me £95.00. I rang up and threatened to change to the RAC for a year unless they matched it. They did so without any argument, but then managed to talk me into an additional package which brought be back up to £174.87. Ho hum.

Still, I'm now £18.88 better off for 2012/13. Things are looking up.

Postscript: Information here, and extract here from British Listed Buildings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.