The Many Adventures of Minny Blipper

.... he saw that Monsieur le Chef was just about to leave the building, and he belted downstairs to ask for a loan to take Marie to the pictures.

Ah, mon leetle ami Minny; 'ow are you today?  I'm good thanks Monsieur le Chef, but I'm a bit desperate - I want to take Marie to the flicks and I can't afford it.  Can I borrow $5?  I promise faithfully I will pay you back. (Minny held his hands behind his back and crossed his fingers - everyone knows that if you have your fingers crossed a promise doesn't count)

So!  You 'ave captured the 'eart of Marie.  You are a ver' lucky man.  OK, because I have a big 'eart and even bigger pocket, 'ere is $10.  But don't forget, I will want you to pay me back one day. 

Of course Monsieur, of course.  I won't forget; I'll pay you back for sure (little thinking that day would come sooner rather than later).

Belting back upstairs, he said, come on Marie, I've just struck it lucky, and I'll be paying for everything.  If we go real quick, we'll just catch the main show.

And off they went to the movies.  Minny bought up big, paid for the tickets, and bought Marie some popcorn and ice-cream.  He sat down beside her; he wanted, really wanted, to hold her hand, but he didn't dare.  So instead swivelled his head to look around the theatre. 

Oh my golly gosh - that's the job for me he thought, as he watched the man operating the projector.  How can I get a job like that?  I should be so lucky.  And he felt a bit depressed.

At the end of the show he took Marie up the stairs, and onto the roof, and then he saw.......

(Same time same place next week for more adventures of Minny Blipper and his new flame Marie).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.