Tawharanui, tree growing on a rock

Catching up with myself.  I have back blipped the last 2 days, in case you should be interested.  I got behind due to long, tiring days.

Today, on the recommendation of our hostess, Terry, we went out to Tawharanui (pronounced tafaranui) peninsula.  This has been closed off from the mainland by a pest proof fence, to exclude possum, stoats, rats etc.  This has allowed the endemic species to be reintroduced, such as kiwi, saddlebacks, tahake.  We did a walk called the "Ecology trail", which first took us along the beach.  As an extra, I've added a photo of birds on the beach - I cannot decide whether they are New Zealand dotteral or lesser knots.  The pebbles and rocks were quite challenging for my knee.  But they gave me my main blip.  

We then climbed up through a wonderful wooded valley, filled with native bird song, to a section through a forest.  This was once again challenging with steep downhill paths, but filled with interesting sights,

We saw bell birds and saddlebacks.  And I think I spotted a woodpecker.  

On returning to the car, we ate sandwiches overlooking a small lake, watching pÅ«keko and oystercatchers disagree about ownership of a small area of grass.  Ducks on the water, and a heron flew over - what more could one want?

Our return to the apartment along minor roads once again found W driving on challenging, and for a short distance, unsealed roads.

And then he cooked dinner, whilst I sat at the computer and blipped! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.