misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Sr. Thomas' Grandparents

This photo belongs to me but I did not take it. Although today I took a blip of it to share.
The scene is at a family picnic outside of San Francisco when young Elizabeth was about 4 years old.  These are her grandparents. I deeply regret that in the process of moving the larger family photo was lost with all the aunts and uncles and little (spoiled) Elizabeth with a big bow in her hair, Estimate the year is about 1915.
I met Elizabeth at the change of century 2000 at a convent where I was staying near Seattle. She had been one of the first WACs (Women Army Corps) in WWII and/or the Korean War. She retired as a U.S. Army Captain after supervising the loading of military equipment and soldiers onto ships in the Pacific Ocean when the war ended. She was about 5 feet tall.
After the war she entered the convent and took the name Sister Thomas.
She got a PhD in Old English & Contemporary English and taught the Sisters in the Seattle area for years.
It was near the end of her life that we became great friends. Many evenings we would sit in her room, sipping Bushnells fine whisky, while she told me stories of her life. She gave me several of her prized treasures before she died. This photo is one.

I have been saving it to blip and when Calleach suggested the Whensday photo entries I knew a blip of Sr. Thomas' Grandparents was the best/oldest entry I have. I hope the Blip Central leaders will not scold me for it.
I wish they would rethink their decision to ban blips of old photos.   These give us a window into our past just as our current blips give us a view into our international members lives nowadays. I know Sister Thomas would feel this way too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.