horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Life, The Universe and Everything....

In other words, 42. I'm still not convinced my 30s actually happened, given how recent my 20s still feel....

Some lovely cufflinks from Mel, the only present opened in the morning so I could wear them to work; then once home some gloriously randomly flavoured Japanese Kit Kats, and a vintage oil can. These all make me happy.

Also an incentive to get the wee Mini pepped up under the bonnet for the start of August, and a tracknight at Knockhill. And some cash will be going towards the not-insignificant cost of a new, better turbo trainer. I spend so much time on it, it seems a reasonable purchase to make. And after getting the results of the MoD Rocker late overnight, it's working more than I imagined. Seems I rolled in about 35th out of 275. Now there are some people who it appears times haven't been published, and a few that did the optional longer route, but probably translates to about 40th out of 250. Considering the last time I completed a Sportive (early in those aforementioned 30s) I was second last man home, that just seems astonishing. 

Speaking with a friend who is also training (for a handcycle land speed record attempt) we'd both had this feeling of 'am I actually improving?' I guess I've got my answer. I was nowhere near as high as that on the initial timed 13.5 mile section, which included the biggest and baddest hill, but maybe I just kept more in reserve for the remaining 49.5 miles...

Isla spent half the night sucking up to me for some reason (see the extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.