The Way I See Things

By JDO

Zorsted

I'm still heavily corseted today, but moving a little more easily than yesterday; given which, I decided this morning to make a small road trip - just up to the wetland reserve at Upton Warren. Because birds. Evidence of my being an actual rain god continues to mount however: when I began collecting my gear the garden was bathed in brilliant sunshine, but by the time I reached the front door it was heaving down - and though the water fowl at Upton Warren probably don't mind drenching rain, I do. So once again I was confined to the (very soggy) garden.

Early this afternoon the rain stopped and the sky cleared enough for me to think a bug hunt might be worthwhile, and it was. I have dozens of photos of bees and hoverflies, some of them really quite interesting; but as I was about to go back indoors I saw this Orange-tip patrolling the verge across the lane, and I immediately set off in pursuit of him.

The problem with freshly-emerged male butterflies, of course, is that they're intent on finding females, and very rarely settle - so you have to be lucky, and catch one at the point when its energy runs out and it simply has to land for a rest. This one first came down on a cow-parsley head, but didn't feed and lifted again before I could reach him; but after flying only about a metre he landed again on a nettle, and stayed there. I managed to get shots of his other side by sticking the lens through the middle of the cow-parsley, but I didn't like the light, and luckily he sat and allowed me take this profile as well.

A camera club judge would almost certainly say that this isn't quite good enough, because it's not perfectly sharp from stem to stern. To which I would reply: if you think you can do better, feel free to crawl through the stinging nettles in my place.

All the keepers are here, if you're interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.