Zzzz...

Where has the week gone?

Where did the day go?

Answers on a postcard, please.

It was a busy day. It was a varied day. It was a long day.

Gaelic class finishes at 7pm, so by the time I get home and have something to eat it's usually 8pm.

So, the Blip is me organising my bedtime tea and thinking it's not that long since I made my breakfast coffee. I got the tea in Kıbrıs - really good. A Turkish brand.

Tonight's first conundrum - the similarity between the Gaelic word eaglais and the French word église, both meaning "church". The pronounciation isn't identical, but close enough.  

Gaelic is older than French of course. Gaelic takes modern words from English (cidsin = kitchen) but churches are not new. Hmmm.

The second conundrum is the word for library - leabharlann - one of my favourites because its pronounciation kind of encapsulates the challenges and pleasures of the language at the same time. Our tutor told us tonight he once had a student give up completely because she couldn't get the pronounciation of that word. 

Are you asleep yet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.