Living In Retirement

The geriatric praying mantis ( see extra shot here) I rescued from the rain and moved to the greenhouse is doing well. At first, for the few days that were wet and miserable, she stayed where I put her. It was dank inside the greenhouse. The first sunny morning she moved to a better spot and was basking in the warmth. Since then I’ve had trouble finding her, but today I discovered her actively hunting up near the sun filter cloth. That is where the flies congregate.

I was pleased to see that her condition has improved. She has put on weight. A moment before I took this shot she had made a grab at that fly as it flew past her to settle just behind her.

There were not so many praying mantises in my garden this recent season. I have found only nine new egg cases, and one of them has been taken. I suspect a rodent, and have set outdoor traps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.