What I've Done

By JohnGravett

Birthday candles

Happy Halloween to all blippers, and to those who share it as another year passed!

A pretty wet day, with a very nice pub lunch with Gail & Mike to celebrate, once we found a pub that opened at lunchtimes! Then I made Mike up as a zombie for a Halloween party tonight, which included ripping and scorching some old jeans and T-shirts. By the time we finished, he looked pretty good.

I did think of a "Heeeeere's Johnny" Blip - inspired by Jack Nicholson in the shining, but as Mike spent a good deal of time yesterday carving the pumpkin - in the background - single handedly, I thought a pumpkin light blip would be OK, besides, I thought smashing my way through a door with an axe might be frowned upon!

Two exposures - one of the pumpkins shot on a black glass table against a black velvet background, the other a zoomed shot of the same, combined in PhotoShop, and the blending modes played around with until I got the result I was after.

Trivia - I share my birthday with Piper Perabo (Covert Affairs and Coyote ugly), Tom Conti, and, I'm sorry to say, Jimmy Saville.

Whilst I was basking in the warmth of a pub, my guests were still trying to capture masterpieces - including fellow blipper Ken Grace, who usese a D7000, but shoots most of his blips on an iphone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.