a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Alcazar Real

Seville Day 4

After visiting the Mezquita in Cordoba a few years ago, Cathy and I were keen to visit Seville to see the Alcazar.  Needless to say, it did not disappoint.  I wish we were staying longer as I would rather like to go back for one of the night visits when it is artificially illuminated, as I suspect it would look (even more) stunning (if that is possible).  

Inevitably when visiting such places one has to put up with the fact that lots of other people also want to visit.  But we take our time and try to let a sense of place and history seep in whilst others hurry past.  

Eventually, with weary feet we agreed that there was only so much of a good thing (even this good thing) that one could take, and we wandered off to an open air restaurant in the historic centre that we had spotted yesterday, in need of a sit down and refreshment.  

The main shot is of the underground baths at the lower level of the palace.  I've added some extras of the Alcazar - to be honest I could have uploaded countless shots - there is something about the Moorish architectural style that I find enormously aesthetically pleasing.  The level of detail and the beauty of the patterns gets me every time.

Tomorrow is, sadly, our last day.  We have only really scratched the surface of Seville, and I have no idea what we will end up seeing and doing tomorrow.  But that is part of the fun really :-)

Later:

Veronica mentioned yesterday in her comment that it was possible to visit the Metropole Parasol in the evening.  We popped back and paid another 3 euros each this evening and I've uploaded a late extra that I expect most people won't now get to see, but I was rather pleased with the young lovers enjoying the sunset so wanted to share it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.