Daily Wild

By emyjane

Simply Gene

I haven't only had robin friends in my garden, I've been lucky enough to know many blackbird friends too - I used to blip a lot of 'Elgar' years ago, he was really my first love and since then, there has been a series of male blackbirds and females, vying for my attention and of course live mealworms!  (as that's really the heart of it, right?!) ;-) )  Gene so called because his mate of 4 years ago was called 'Kelly' - sadly she was taken by a sparrowhawk right in front of me, who swooped in silent and low and I couldn't do anything to stop her!  Gene then formed a 'relationship' with Grace (Yeah, Grace Kelly, amazing aye?) but they didn't last, for some reason they fell out and he's with 'Betty' now - blackbirds certainly do not mate for life!  There are too many blackbirds now and even more as the garden is 'littered' with baby ones and so the hawks have been patrolling, which is always such a worry with Louie - I am always so anxious about them all, they are like my children and I do feel responsible for them and their wellbeing xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.