Twins

Good to see these two sharing their supper. 

After a hard day's toil at the computer I decided I needed a change of scene so went for a country drive. I came across a whole load of new lambs (elsewhere from the two pictured who are from the existing batch which I saw earlier) but my excitement was curtailed somewhat when I found two lambs sitting with the corpse of their dead mother. At first I thought she was asleep but it soon became apparent she was lifeless. I went over to check and her face was covered in blood, which at first made me think she'd been mauled by a dog but then I realised it was actually where the crows (presumably) had been pecking her eyes out and the blood had run down her face. Poor thing.

My conscience told me I ought to inform the farmer so I went to the nearest house to ask where the farm was. The guy who answered the door was only house sitting but then the next door neighbour came out, who knew the farmer, and his strong advice was not to as the farmer would find the sheep soon enough and was the type who wouldn't thank me for bothering him about it. So, reluctantly, I took this advice and went on my way. I hope the two orphaned lambs will be okay...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.