Rodents rule

By squirk

New old bicyclette

With much excitement I made my way across north London to Hackney to meet my new steed. I bought the same make of bike as the one that was stolen three weeks ago. I didn't know what condition it was in and there was a slight nag at the back of my mind that it might be a stolen bike. However, my mind was put at rest when knocked on the door and I was greeted by a small, yappy-type dog called Jemima. Behind her was a friendly, gruff older chap who ushered me in and introduced me to my new bike. I asked about the missing rear mudguard and he told me that the bike had belonged to his 13-year-old son and you what boys are like, taking things apart and all that. He had no idea where the mudguard was. The bike wasn't cool enough for his son, who was after something a bit more macho. The dad had ridden the bike, but only in an emergency. He said his cycling days were over. While we were discussing the bike, the mum was puffing away on her cigarette and trying to calm down the overexcited Jemima. The teenager was nowhere in sight - probably taking his new bike apart.

I cycled the bike for a wee bit and it definitely needs a stint in the bike garage. The hub on the back wheel is a bit sticky and the back brake is a little slack. However, I feel really happy to have bought it and I'm up for the challenge of bringing it back to working order (with a great deal of help and hopefully not too much cash at the local bike service shop). I'm sure it will still be cheaper than buying a new bike.

Back home and we're packing for the wedding of the year up in Edinburgh. Myself, Fred and a couple of work colleagues/friends are heading up on the train tomorrow. We have a lovely pad on the Royal Mile to look forward to. It's going to be fab! There's one friend who may not make it - she's stuck in New York and is desperately trying to find a way over. Her latest attempt is to fly home from Philadelphia. I have my fingers crossed for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.