A discovery

For the last thirty years , or more, I have thought I was allergic to asparagus.

I remember being very ill having eaten some when I was in my twenties so I have avoided it ever since.

But I began to wonder about the matter - not least because everyone else keeps telling me how tasty it is - so earlier this year I tried a little and had no ill effects whatsoever.    In fact I really liked it. 

Maybe I have grown out of it, or maybe it was something else that disagreed with me.   Anyway as Cathleen had already been wanting to establish an asparagus bed this conversion seemed an ideal opportunity and consequently  the first wee spears are now pushing their way out of the earth in the poly tunnel.

However they cannot be eaten in the year of planting, so we will have to wait another 12 months before sampling our own home grown crop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.