Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Mosi-o-tunya...

which means 'the smoke that thunders' and is in fact the Victoria falls!  I arrived at the falls at 6am which the signpost says is the time they open!  Well...the man with the key was not there, but I was able to go down and see the falls without paying!!! Even when I came back there was still no one there!!  This picture of course does not do the Victoria falls justice but in fact this is the only part of the water flowing over the rock that was visible - the rest was just rain as you can see in the extra photo!  I went onto the bridge and got soaked - the falls are really high at the minute and its a magnificent sight but also a magnficent sound!  So glad I went.  You get a much better perspective from the Zimbabwe side but I have been there before and didn't want to spend the $50 needed to cross the border!!!

Then I started the journey back to Lusaka and arrived just before dark!  The vehicle in the extra photo was in front of me for part of the journey - this is how they carry cattle in Zambia!!  Not a great shot but I was driving through the pot holes so we were going slow!

Am thankful to be back safely - there were so many big trucks on the road today going at frightening speeds, and no traffic police around when you need them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.