a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Spotlit Spanish Rose

"The wine beneath the bed,
The things we've done and said
And all the memories that come glancing back to me
In my loneliness
You're standing in the breach
Beyond that stretch, but our love will reach
Unconsciousness that find me sometimes wondering
Where you're at.
Hmm, take me back again,
Take me back one more time, Spanish rose."

Van Morrison ~ Spanish Rose

We're back home from our travels this evening.  Despite the French Air Traffic Controller's industrial action we were only delayed by half an hour or so.  Not so bad for a journey that involved journeys by taxi, train, second train, bus, aeroplane and car.  By the time we made the traditional stop to pick up some milk on the way back from the airport we were very keen to see our own home and get to relax.  

The weather in Bristol when we landed was surprisingly warm and sunny for the UK, only a few degrees cooler than Spain. I cannot remember ever flying back to warm still weather before.  The garden is looking more than a little shaggy - so I know where Cathy will want to spend the rest of her bank holiday weekend :-)

We haven't had the chance to look, but I don't think that any of our roses are flowering as yet.  Not like this beauty that caught the morning sunshine in Spain, what seems an age ago now.  I'll be back to Spain later this year, but not until September and it seems an age away at the moment.  Until then I know were Van is coming from with his lyric :-)

Thank you all for your kind hearts and stars for the photos uploaded while we were away in Seville.  I will try to make time to catch up properly on blip now that we are back.   But not tonight.  Tonight an early night beckons!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.