Here and Now

By Mole

Derby Day!

Today was the first day of Sprummer. Well ok, maybe the second. I started blipping early morning to catch sunshine and dew. I continued taking shots periodically throughout the day and pop,pop,pop, everywhere I looked in the yard. Like one of those quick time-elapse nature films. Strolled the cemetary with JZ where bees were racing to the blooming azaleas. Hence my blip choice since it was Derby Day, even though I’m not thrilled with this shot amongst hundreds from today. Many varieties of birds returned to our yard, too many to list. Honorable mentions for Mr Mole’s catbird, cardinal nest, and first hummer.

Back to the Kentucky Derby. I caught a few of the earlier races with one filler piece about the California horses trying to escape the wildfires last year. People trampled trying to save them. Tear jerker. Then all the antics - the goofy get-ups amongst the gorgeous, how to mix mint juleps (as if), and the hopeful winning picks of NBC News celebrities to which I say, who cares?

I got tearied eye but avoided the full sob during the singing of My Old Kentucky Home. (I loved living in Lexington for two years many moons ago). The derby was a fantastic mudder. I would never ever pick a horse named Justify to win.

The past 6 days have been nightmarish for me. Obvs I’m on the flip side, now blabbing on blip again. I am very grateful for my loving hub and friends. Thank you all for your beautiful blips, visits, and especially your humor that lifted my spirits time and again. XXX Mole

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.