No. 2-0-0-0 ... Schloss Benrath, Germany

Today is Memorial Day in The Netherlands.  I should have shot a memorial scene.  Says who?  Says no one.  I opted to take advantage of the yet again gorgeous weather for yet another day trip across the border.  Despite the route planner directions, it took all of three hours to find Benrath, just under Düsseldorf and, in fact, a suburb of the town.  Without Googling anything, I'll presume that Düsseldorf was also completely bombed during the war, so it's pretty much like Rotterdam -- modern, business-like, fast.  Part of losing my way meant actually driving through the town, and I was convinced I didn't have much reason to hang around.  I did take shots of a church, though.

Because I arrived late, the last tour was almost over, so maybe next time, if there is a next time.  I peeked through the windows and took some shots that way (Schloss Brühl had already given me a good idea of what to expect, though), then took a leisurely walk around the whole complex, during which I shot this.  A very peaceful village altogether, and with the weather as it was, I didn't get the feeling I wasted time or money.

It was a lot easier to find my way back to the A46, then A57 and A52, before finally hitting the A61 again.  By the time I got home, there was AW, waiting with open arms to welcome me back.  It's on days like this that I wish holidays lasted forever.

I was already warned last week that this anniversary was coming up, and I must say I can hardly believe it.  It is too bad there are a lot of gaps at the beginning and I can find no shots to fill them up, but such is life, and I have no regrets.  HARTELIJK BEDANKT - DANKE SCHÖN - MERCI BEAUCOUP - THANK YOU VERY MUCH for all your support through the years!  You've no idea how inspiring it has all been, thanks to this community.  What a fabulous place to just be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.