Sevilla D10 - Devotion

A deliberate day off from any programmed activities today: I'm in sensory overload and needed a rest :)

But, in this place, life happens all around you. So, as I exited my apartment building for a quiet walk, I literally ran into the annual processional of Nuestra Señora del Rocío de Triana, a church right around the corner. Hundreds of people, some bearing crosses and banners of the church, singing, playing instruments, greeting each other with the traditional besos, just marching by.  So, of course, I followed, mingled and snapped away (see extra for a shot of the processional). Lots of people on the balconies of their homes as well, looking on and participating from a bit further away. An unexpected and very pleasant surprise :)

Everyone was dressed in their Sunday fineries -- including kids. The 'little drummer boy' in the main pic was one of them, keeping beat on his drum with the music played by the grown ups in the street. 

Everyone piled into the church and sang their hearts out. Devotion to one's church seems a big deal here :)

I did go for another walkabout later on: a bit of mundane grocery shopping (TP was #1 on my list ;) and ran into some of my group members. Now, on to reviewing last week's Spanish lessons and doing some homework (it's been a while since I've had to do that!).

Hasta luego!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.