nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Tour de Yorkshire

I don't follow cycle sport so didn't really know what was going on.  The first year I lived in Leeds the Tour de Yorkshire came quite close and I cycled out to watch the race at the top of (Cote de) Otley Chevin.  I wasn't very organised this year and spent all morning fettling my own bikes, so just went into town this afternoon to the Square to watch it on the big screen.  The finish was just outside, at the same place as the start of the Tour de France a few years back - this is a 'legacy' event which seems to be doing well.  I wish the womens' race had the same status as the mens'; it was over two days for the first time this year (mens' over four), but those were Thursday and Friday...this is an endurance sport and women are bloody good at it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.