An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Perfect Day for a Sunday Stately Home

Wilton House, just 3.5 miles from me, a few minutes by bus, yet, I had not visited the Grounds in nearly three years. 

I easily overlook it as on fine days where I feel the £7 fee to wander round the large and majestic grounds is justified, I'm well on my way to somewhere further afield. And it's only open on half of the days of the week.

But with the potential of crazy traffic chaos on routes to the coast and very limited Sunday bus service, this being  the second day of the Earl of Pembroke's fancy pile back garden opening for the year, it made total - and perfect sense.

The main House was open too, but I visited that many years ago - and you can bump at least another tenner on the price....

All gardens, formal or otherwise, look best in May, with the fresh bright greens of the wonderful trees and abundance of wild flowers. The river Nadder famously babbles and burbles under the wonderful Palladian Bridge, just behind and to my left, here.

Yes, it was quite busy, but never crowded. Just a nice assortment of families picnicking, couples snoozing under the limbs of palatial cedar trees, the gentle sound of children playing mixing equally with birdsong. There were always corners and crannies without anyone else, including the nicely 'rustic' woodland walk, looking quite magical.

There is a nice cafe/restaurant etc and other such essential facilities, but I had taken in my own cold liquid refreshment.

And yes, me, kneeling, rummaging about trying to get this damned bunch of bluebells lit. The dappled sunlight was on them, but just not enough to show up on an ultrawide shot, so I resorted to the tiny little pathetic pop up flash on the camera. Professionals rightly mock such devices, but as you can see, they can come in handy.

I managed to spend nearly three hours here, until near closing time, to get my money's worth. 

There was hardly anyway else better to spend that time.

Perfect.     

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.