Bank Holiday Monday here in UK.

It will probably go down in the record books as one of the  hottest Bank Holiday Mondays here. It registered 30C in our car, having been parked at our friend's house this morning when we went for a coffee. In our back garden it feels more like being in Provence in France. 27C in the sunshine.
Cloudless, clear, deep blue skies from early morning, and now in late afternoon it is a tiny little bit hazy. 
A breeze is stirring the newly washed curtains on the line. 
My spring cleaning is almost finished, as the carpets were cleaned last month. 
I love the smell of washing which has dried outdoors. 
    This morning, as usual, I fed Tiger, our ancient cat, then made a coffee and wandered up to the top of the garden. 
There was a stillness. 
The sound of traffic less noticeable, as the schools are off today, it makes such a difference. 
 Today's photo is our neighbours' colourful windmill, which is attached to the boundary post of the wire fence between our houses. 
 Over the years, we have had a variety of garden accoutrements displayed. Arthur, next door, is quite an interesting character. He and his wife being fluent French speakers. He taught me  to sing La Mer in French and encouraged me with my love of the language to keep on studying it, not as a student taking an exam, but with the Adult Education classes nearby, until, each year from 2004 -2015 I went along with a friend for a week's intensive French course to the same small town, Nyons, in the north of Provence. 
I now belong to French Book Club here and we read a French novel every 5- 6 weeks, then meet for coffee and biscuits to discuss our opinions. It is stimulating. 
We have a retired Head of Languages, alongside a recently retired University lecturer in French, my old Adult Ed teacher, (not old in the sense of age!), a fluent French speaker who has a house in the South of France, and someone who worked in France with a French Company, then myself, and another friend who are less fluent, but the others keep us on our toes! 
As aforementioned, Arthur is very interesting. One winter he took all Rose's pans of various sizes, outside and filled them with water. 
The following morning he emptied out the blocks of ice and piled up all the differing shapes, into a kind of ice sculpture on the lawn. He strung a lot of plastic flower pots together another time and hung them from the washing line in a spiral
shape! If I had had had a digital camera with a zoom lens then, I would have been able to photograph it for posterity!  
   Today we have the colourful windmill which I can watch as I drink my early morning coffee in the summerhouse. 
It makes me smile.        
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.