RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Re-certification

I first earned my Open Water Scuba Card in 1981 and it has been about that long since I actually went diving. Our friend Carlos, in town for a brief vacation, set up a dive trip for the two of us which was very generous. I did, however, have some nervousness about being underwater after such a long period. Fortunately, our guide is a certified instruction and he took me through a basic refresher before we actually did any real diving. Here we are practicing regulator recovery after already having covered clearing of the mask and regulator. Once I got over my initial nerves, the two dives were glorious. I can certainly see why people get so caught up in this sport and I plan to go again - especially now that I know what I'm doing (for the most part).

I'm not sure if I'm really re-certified, but that is what I will say if anyone asks. This was taken by my friend Carlos with his iPhone. Pretty impressive performance for a phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.