Upward over the mountain

By lilymaychanter

Antimatter

Here I give you my own miraculous bit of antimatter...the creation or the demise of all things...the exact opposite of everything that humans know on this earth...which is actually just a drop of water that appears to be suspended in midair.

I went through great pains to get this shot. I've been reading Angles and Demons by Dan Brown, and I was really inspired by the description of antimatter and the role that it could potentially play in either the renewal of faith, or the destruction of faith. Very interesting stuff.

To get this shot, I had to take my own leap of faith. There was one strand of spiderweb hanging from my bathroom ceiling, connected to the mirror. I took quick action after I got out of the shower. I had to get the tiniest drop of water onto my finger and transfer it onto the spiderweb without breaking it with the weight of the water drop.

It worked just as I had planned. Now I'm a little depressed because the shot isn't looking nearly as good on blip as it looked when I was editing it. It's really blurry and noisy. Perhaps one day I'll try again, although I don't know where else I'm going to find such a carefully placed spiderweb. :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.