Colourful Day

I woke up to a model biplane aircraft hanging from the ceiling above me. I drank a cuppa in my friend’s garden overlooking a hammock swinging from a tree with bright yellow rapeseed fields behind. A soak in an old fashioned tin bath as the sun shone through the window set me up for the day.

A trundle to the pub for breakfast riding in a tractor trailer along the country lanes certainly woke me up. Met some of my friend Marcel’s friends in the pub and talked aviation, steam engines, tractors and baking.

On the journey home I drove the 1960 Fordson Dexta engine to great delight (see my instagram for photos and video). My eyes were streaming from the rapeseed but I barely noticed.

A short interlude to start writing up a blog from Thursday’s press day then we were back out the door and off to Sywell Aerodrome. It was a scorching hot day and the perfect excuse to try out my new pink and orange sun hat.

Met up with the lovely Helen (pictured with me), Mandy, Jack and many relatives of the new bride’s along with some bonkers (but lovely) friends of the new groom.

The evening party began on the lawn and it remained warm and sunny until so late we had to be shepherded into the function suite for the buffet and disco.

I met aviation friends old and new from which emerged so many interesting stories and characters. One new friend Thies had great taste in hats so we were immediate friends.

A great evening which went too quickly. Promised my new American pals I’d visit Oshkosh Air Show in the US this summer. Lotto win may be required!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.