Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

I am not the Tin Man

Beloved reckons I’m losing my memory. She says she’s told me something and that I have forgotten, but I reckon it’s when she’s been on the phone and discussed something, and then she thinks she’s told me.
 
Last week made me think again. I went delving into the freezer, picked something out and put it on one side, then ferreted about again, picked up something else and put it to one side, rummaged again to find something I know was there because I put it there, and couldn’t find it.  Why couldn’t I find it, because it was the first thing I’d taken out. Doh.
 
This memory thing has happened before, all it needed was a change of medication and all was right with the world.
 
But, it’s a bit of a worry because by the time she was my age, Mum was suffering from Alzheimer’s, so it’s always at the back of my mind.
 
So off we toddled to see the doctor.
 
She asked the usual type of questions, how’s the blood pressure, am I stressed, that type of thing. Then she gave me a name and address to remember, asked a couple of other simple questions, like, what’s the date; good job it was daughter A’s birthday, otherwise I might have been stumped at that one; then asked me to repeat the name and address. Apparently it’s a standard test to check for the signs of Alzheimer’s, which I passed with flying colours apparently.
 
Next on the list was having to go back today for another blood test, I only had one last week, and an ECG.
 
So the results are in, no problems in the blood test, and none on the ECG either. See, I do have a heart. Have to wait now to see the nurse a week on Monday.
 
Now then, what was I talking about?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.