Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

D Fluid

Helping out with a research project at Big D today.

One of the symptoms of Chronic Kidney Disease is that you start to retain fluid, in some cases you will stop peeing altogether.  I’m not there yet, but I am retaining fluid.

The research project uses a computer to estimate how much fluid is in your body, so that a clinical decision can be made on how much to take off.  Traditionally this is done on the weight measurements taken before dialysis, and the experience of the nurse.  Today the computer estimated that I needed 3 litres taken off, which is more than they’ve ever done before.

My body couldn’t take it and my blood pressure plummeted, they had to adjust the dialysis machine and reduce the fluid down to 2 litres.  As soon as they did that, I felt so much better.

It took a lot out of me, and I nodded off.  I haven’t got much reading done today.

I suspect Big D fatigue tonight will be early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.