wrperry

By wrperry

First Meal in Rome

We took one of those overnight flights to Rome yesterday, so our adventures today took place in a bit of a fog.  We'll take a long walk in the city tomorrow, but today we walked a few blocks to the Colosseum.  As was to be expected it was mobbed, and crawling with tourists from around the globe.  We didn't have the energy to take an official tour, so we downloaded Rick Steves' audio tour, sat on a stone wall next to the Colosseum, and had a relaxing "private tour."  This evening we had dinner at a quiet family run restaurant recommended by the hotel.  It was perfect.  I was charmed by the Chianti bottles used as candlesticks.  They reminded me of the wax decorated bottles I used to make when I was in college.  This will have to serve as my blip today.  After my glass of wine I'm so ready for a good night's sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.