Foeniculum vulgare

I had a part in creating this photo and the subject.

In fact, it's my daughter's hard work in her vegetable plot in Ireland. Amazing that they are so good. She claims I was with her when we looked at a rack of seed packets on sale in a supermarket on one of her visits here last year and thus she kindly reckons I must be given some credit.

MrB loves fennel, raw in a freshly made fruit salad. The Annis flavour gives it a special taste. I like it raw but in a standard leaf/green salad. It's also excellent baked as a vegetable.

Kohlrabi is another very German vegetable that I think she may also be growing but she didn't send any photos. Another vegetable that is also wonderful raw, very thinly sliced with a sprinkling of salt. Or lightly boiled/simmered and a dollop of Creme Fraiche.

I am way behind on my vegetables, in fact not really started but for a dozen potatoes planted and this week the tomatoes planted in the green house. Kate is also setting hers out this week. Wonder who will do best.

A case of my horse muck against her sheep droppings, perhaps.

Let the race begin.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.