A Hot Mess

I attended an exhibition by all the girls on the Dream Team. It is their last performance for parents and friends....only $5 to watch "your" child for a maximum on 5 minutes each before they travel to Florida tomorrow for their final competition of the year. These trips are very expensive for the parents. 

I really don't understand the passion for Competition Cheer Groups; these girls, and a couple boys, dedicate so much time and energy to cheer! I think it is dangerous;  girls are thrown into the air and usually caught on their way down......but sometimes they go  head first toward the mats when the catchers miss her (as in my Blip Photo). This girl was able to roll with it and she was okay, but it was scary. See the extra to see how high the girls go.

My granddaughter is not in any of these photos......I thought I was recording while she was "performing".....but I accidentally pushed the wrong button. Just as well because it scares me to see her thrown up into the air......I hope this will be her last year of competitions. She says she will only do High school cheer during her senior year. I sure hope so; it seems much safer and sooooo much less expensive!  

And don't even get me started on the heavy makeup and costumes! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.