Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Focus

Since the day I became a member here on blipfoto, blipping has been very time-consuming. Every day has been an exercise in improving my photography. It's been a daily school that led me from finding beauty to creating beauty. 
Now the daily challenge of finding a picture a day (at least the way I have been doing it) has become a burden. I feel I need time to sit back a bit and think about where I want to go with my photography from here. I want do develop projects and work on them in private, giving my ideas the time they need to grow and mature.
This means that I will drastically reduce my activities here on blipfoto. Consequently, the Experimental Photography Challenges will also be suspended. 
But I don't want to "go" (I will be around, following you and blipping from time to time) without telling you where I think I will be pointing my camera at in the nearer future. 
For some months now I have been concentrating on light and shadows and trying to take my focus away from objects. This has been quite difficult for me as I always tend to concentrate on stuff and not on what makes it visible. Thus I have developed a very simply technique to help me train my eye: I get off autofocus and manually "unfocus" until all I can see are patterns of light and darkness (or colours). I then compose my picture based on that reduced information, turn autofocus back on, and take the picture. Many of these were composed with this method. 
That's it for now. I will be back once more on Monday to announce my selection of contributions to EP23. After that, you might not hear from me for a while. But don't worry. I'll be fine and I'll be back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.