Second time lucky!

I've had to return to my blip of two days ago to correct a mistake. I now know what Vole was trying to explain to the baby bird: that he was a robin, NOT a dunnock, and so Mr Dunnock wasn't his dad. Seeing the juvenile approach the dunnock was what made me think he was a baby dunnock - but, of course, he wasn't - he was an equally unobservant baby robin. No wonder the dunnock was ignoring his pleas for food - and he wasn't being a mean dad - it just wasn't his offspring - it wasn't even the same species!

Today, I saw the same young robin. This time he found the right parent and wasn't disappointed, so I had to blip them together. Sorry if you're getting fed up with bird photos, but they do occupy a lot of my time and attention.

Spent half the day gardening - planted some dwarf sunflower seeds (something I've not tried before), planted on sweet pea seedlings and replanted last year's gladioli bulbs that I lifted over winter. Swept leaves out of corners and generally tidied up. The leaf-sweeping's a prickly task as there's a large number of dry, brown holly leaves among them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.