Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Indigo Bunting

So I got a new toy - a little Lumix pocket camera - and while I was playing with it this guy showed up. I really need to figure out all the settings, but this will have to do for now. Meanwhile, I didn't realize I'd accidentally set the date wrong (the year!) until Blip told me I already had an entry on "this date" - well yeah, I did. A year ago!

I was pleased to see this fella because while we were in West Virginia some people were really anxious to get a good look at an indigo bunting and I said to my self "Pfft - they come to my feeders." And sure enough, here he is again! Back from the tropics and knowing where to find a quick snack.

He's one of those birds that they say "isn't really blue." Which is to say, the blue is a result of the light hitting his feathers right. In the wrong light he just looks dark, almost black. But in the right light he couldn't be bluer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.