Happy Mother’s Day Tomorrow

America’s moms will be hoping and praying for a special word, a hug, a coffee time, or maybe a meal with their kids, or those whom they have adopted into their hearts.

My favorite moment, this day, was rounding the corner to the card department, and seeing this lovely mail carrier picking out a card for her Mom. I chatted with her a bit, telling her how it touched me to see her, a “mail carrier, or whatever you’re called these days”, (she interjects with a smile, “I call myself a mail man”) pause to find a card for her own Mom after delivering cards all over town. She shared how there had been a card addressed to a first name and a house number, but no street, and she just knew it was a Mother’s Day card, so she told her co-workers, they had to find the route it belonged to. They all looked at the name and number and someone knew it was on their route and delivered it. She said she loves her job and has the best people on her route.

I asked her if she would allow me to photograph her for my photo journal. She said, “sure! I’ll go back to looking for cards, the way you found me ;-) “

What a delight! I didn’t even ask her name...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.