Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Scan

I had my 4-monthly follow-up appointment with my oncologist a couple of weeks ago. Usually I'd meet a member of his team, but this time it was the man himself. He really is wonderful, has a fantastic manner, is thorough to a fault, and looks far too young.

We went through the usual question-and-answer business and then he asked if anything else was causing me concern. I mentioned the walking problems I've been having since the hip replacement and he told me (may reminded me) that osteoporosis could be a side-effect of the hormone injections. 'Have you had a bone scan recently? Hold on, here it is: you had one during the diagnosis period. Your numbers are fine, but we've only been checking PSA. Just to be sure, I'd like to do a few more checks, including another bone scan.'

My appointment was today, in the 'nuclear medicine' department. The info letter warned me that I'd be in the hospital for at least three hours, so I was pleasantly surprised when I was told to go home and come back three hours later for the actual scan. This was after the radioactive injection. I'd come prepared for the wait I'd been warned about and had a book with him on my iPad and music lined up also. Being able to go home and go back was a welcome bonus.

The nurse told me after the injection that the scan itself would take about twenty minutes, but it was more like forty. It's just as well I'm not claustrophobic, because the machine comes down very close to one's face for part of the time and it's quite uncomfortable. When the machine returned to its idle position I thought I was good to go, but I was wrong. I had to turn round the other way and be fed back into the machine while it revolved its way around my head (more close-to-the-face unpleasantness included). Anyway, it's done now. I'm not due to see the oncologist again until October. Hopefully the scan results will be okay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.