horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Annual Tradition

The last three years now I've been in a position to report on the arrival of the new Cygnets in the Figgate Park. Given I originally got involved in the committee for recording the wildlife, and that's now actually almost all I do (posting on the Facebook page, and running the Twitter account) I'd have been disappointed if I'd been beaten again!

But they kept us waiting this year. It was 7th May in 2016 that the Cygnets debuted; and 8th May last year. But as ever the news goes down well, and we've got 6 new additions. Fingers crossed as many make it through as possible (last year they only lost one out of 8)

Just nice to be able to get out in the park in the bright mornings now, before most other people have got up, and have the place to myself. Victim of its own success I guess (and the weekly ParkRun when the locals, save those running, tend to avoid the place); and I've had a part to play in bigging up the wildlife side  of things. So I shouldn't complain. But I will...

Lovely walk later in Woodhall Dean - no adders, they're keeping a low profile so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.