Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Rambling Club - Ullswater

Went out with the rambling club today. We sailed from Pooley Bridge to Howtown and then walked 7.2 miles to Glenridding. It was a fairly low-level walk, but it had a lot of ups and downs. 'Undulating' is a good word, but one group member told me that the first time the group warned him that the path was 'undulating' he waited until he got home to look it up in the dictionary. He shouldn't have been afraid to ask. 

It was a bright, sunny day and I was a little worried about getting my head burnt. I have fine, fair hair which doesn't seem to offer any protection from the sun. I had a sun hat with me, but I couldn't bear to wear it all the time. A female friend kindly sprayed my head with sun lotion, which was all very well, but it didn't do much for my hair and I ended up looking like a scarecrow. 

We called at a pub on the way home and I had to go in with dry spiky hair.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.