Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Mama Osprey

I went to visit the Osprey nest for a few minutes today.  The male was on this perch when I got there and I took several shots before he flew off back to the nest.  There was a lot of flapping on the nest and then the female flew to the perch (across the small pond from the nest) to say hello. I rarely get a shot of the Mrs. because she is very dedicated to incubating her three eggs.  But the male is more than willing to take his turn on the eggs while she stretches her wings a bit.  All the action can be seen on the nest camera if you are interested.  The nest is a few miles from home so I am lucky to be able to see them in person as well.

I am grateful for the 39 years I had with my mother but I wish it had been many more.  She passed away on Mother's Day (May 8th) 1994.  I will never stop missing her but she is always in my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.