Another Iris

The flowers are comparatively small, and this iris is so pale that it's almost not there, and then wham! it hits you with that purple and orange beard. It stops me every time.

I just found the tag: it is Concertina...


I transplanted some sunflowers earlier today. I've heard it's best to start them directly in the ground, but every time I've done that the snails have won. The seedlings are small enough that they fit under those green plastic strawberry baskets, which I hope will protect them from birds. Snails, birds, I don't know who else I have to outsmart, but I'm determined to have a row of big sunflowers along the fence. Then the squirrels will come and amuse us as they figure out all sorts of ways to attack the seedheads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.