I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Diversity in Nature

I decided to go back to see if the long/short-billed Dowitcher was still around this morning. As I looked around the lake it seemed pretty empty. I saw a Spotted Sandpiper on one of the far banks looking for food, a few coots are still around, the cormorants were flying in to the palm trees, and then I saw what I was stalking.

Across the lake was the long/short-billed Dowitcher having a morning rest with a Cinnamon Teal duck, and a Mallard family. What a sight to see. In the extras is the Dowitcher all on it's own and then in flight after I got a little too close.

I saw a mother swallow teaching her babies how to skim the surface of the water for who knows what. Seeing her coming back to the her babies with their mouths open wide was incredible. The photos were not worth posting, but now I have a new goal in mind. I will get that shot!!

I think the pro shop is going to be tired of seeing me early in the morning, before anyone is on the course, begging them for permission to go out and shoot. I know that I can win them over!

I am grateful to feel so much better and be able to get out and capture the wonder of nature.

Go, Knights! Our expansion ice hockey team won the second game in Winnipeg and are coming home for the third game here in Las Vegas for the Western Conference title. What an incredible team.

Until tomorrow......

This looks so much better in large if you have the time to look!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.