Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Best before?

Lots of activity in Princes Street Gardens. People with BIG cameras, BIG tripods and movie cameras. They were all around the Scott Monument. The grass has been laid out with hundreds of little wooden crosses with poppies, with space for lots more. This soldier was posing for photos and there were several cameras pointing at him, and not just the media ones. It must be for Armistice Day. It will be dramatic, as they've just started laying them out, on both sides of the monument.

The usual shamozzle with roads shut, dug up, pedestrians herded miles out of their way. At least there seemed to be quite a bit of activity. Plenty of times I observe only a couple of workers standing around. Or nobody at all, which is what happens every weekend. I cannot understand this. This disruption has been going on for years now, causing businesses to go broke, buses to change routes daily so passengers can never find the bus stops, people who work in town driven mad, and shoppers to desert the city, yet there doesn't seem to be any urgency. Why are the workmen not on a rota and working weekends? I'd better stop, it makes me SO mad. But I did have a good old chinwag with an old lady who sat beside me in the bus. And I think by the time I got off, both our blood pressures must have been sky high!

At My Club I read (paged through) Hello. I am now fully conversant with the lives of folk I didn't even recognise. Although I did reckognise the Beckhams. I noted that they are planning to come back to the UK to be near family. At least, this was an October Hello, so it could be different news in November.

I met Sophie, a black lab trainee guide dog. I asked the man if I could pat her, as I know you're not meant to when they're working. He trains them for a year and a half, then hands them on to the professionals. Guide dogs are the most wonderful creatures.

Last night I made a tasteless curry. Yes, that sounds like an oxymoron. And it tasted like one. My culinary skills only extend to opening jars of curry sauce, but this time I found a packet of curry powder at the back of the cupboard, and a recipe, and followed it carefully. I put in the amount of curry powder stated. Didn't want to overdo it, as I have spoiled perfectly good soup by putting too much pepper in, and you can't take it out! I tasted it and added more. I added more before serving. 'Orrible!

I bought some new curry powder this morning, hoping to rescue the second helpings (it's always best the next night). I have just looked at the date on the bottom of the curry powder packet.

Best before November 1993!! LOL!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.