Romanov children's memorial

I am in Ekaterinburg, lovely Kolya and beautiful wife Elise took me for a lovely lunch and then to
Ganina Yama, a beautiful holy village of wooden churches and memorials in the forest. This is the place where the bodies of the murdered Tsar and his wife and their 5 children were brought after they were killed in 1917 before being moved to a secret location not known for many years.
Last time I was here I visited the place where they were shot and the memorial church in town.
It's a terribly sad story.
At Ganina Yama we went into one of the churches where 2 men were singing prayers in close harmony, the wooden building gave the sound an intimate feel, it was very special to witness. This place is a Monastery.

So I am chilling out before the show, I am on at 1 (5 hours ahead here) and my flight is at 7.... It's going to be a long night........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.