WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Seasonal

This is a guest blip from S, of his view this morning over the shepherd's hut where he spent the night. He'd been planning a three-day yomp, but he couldn't get further up the valley due to snow, and when he came back down to Seix in the hope of doing a lower walk, it was raining (it always rains in Seix in my experience). So he ended up coming home.

It was so windy last night that I woke up in the small hours, and the racket of the wind in the plane tree outside the window kept me awake. At 4 a.m. Mystère decided he had better come indoors and lie on top of me for warmth, but as I was already awake he didn't wake me up. And I eventually got to sleep again, cat notwithstanding. The sky has cleared now, but the wind is still gusting away. Envying TickyTocky who has left the area for warmer climes!

Once I was up I made some potato bread from my Italian baking book and also tried making crème caramel in my new electric steamer (verdict: don't try this at home. It was overcooked). Also started making lists and packing for my upcoming adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.