Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Autumn lane

Autumn at the Steenhopenweg in Papenvoort, Drenthe, The Netherlands.

This blip could also be called 'Logistics' or 'Window of Opportunity'. It's Friday; daddy day. I took the girls to school in the morning and after that I peeked at the weather forecast. It was raining heavily and the forecst wasn't looking good either. When I checked the radar images I noticed there might be a window of opportunity in Drenthe of about half an hour between the rain, with even a slight chance of some sunshine. This would be in about 45 minutes. It would also take me about that much time to get there. I guess you could say it was against all odds, but I decided to go for it anyway...

I drove to the location near Papenvoort in very heavy rain, but the closer I got, the less it was raining. When I arrived it stopped raining. After taking a few test shots the sun briefly peeked through the clouds. Click. And done! I called Martine, who works very close to where I was and enjoyed a cuppa before I had to drive home again to pick up the girls from school. On the way back it started raining again. Window of opportunity, logistics: it all came together nicely today!

In the afternoon I took Inge to her violin lesson. She is making great progress and I am so proud of her. She's doing it all this year: she's learning to read and write, she has her swimming lessons and violin lessons. Last week, she also learned ice skating. She is amazing and so are Nienke and Ellis! Have a great weekend blippers!

Better viewed somewhat larger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.