OMP

By OMP

Nesting

More hidden in Large.

I stopped by a  Sabin Pond nature preserve this morning.  Last time I was there, the lake pond was full of birds.  This time, after climbing down the steep trail to the water, initially I was disappointed.  There wasn't a single bird on the water.  But, if photography has taught me anything, it's patience... Stay still long enough and something will come along.  I heard, then spotted a cat bird.  I wasn't fast enough with the camera, but I do love to see them.  Many small birds started to appear (see extras).  Then I got lucky enough to spy this female rose-breasted grosbeak tucked in to a cedar tree, making her nest.  Blip!  :))  On my way back to the car, a pair of common mergansers bobbed around for me, so obviously, I had to climb back down to the river's edge for a few pix.

After getting back to the car, Piper (who was waiting patiently for me) and I, went for a nice walk on the trails, sans camera.   That's the deal... She has to wait while I shoot, but a nice reward-walk is waiting for her at the end.  We both enjoy this part. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.